Suttas from the Pali Canon

Here you will find a selection of our favourite teachings from the Pali Cannon. These are republished here from the website but we have almost always somewhat adapted the translation. Wherever we have made changes, it is with a view to make the texts easier to understand and to read.

Our plan is to gradually add to this page, with more texts being added to it as we have time to read and comment on them ourselves.

Ambalatthika-rahulovada Sutta: Instructions to Rahula at Mango Stone

Sigalovada Sutta: A young person’s guide to living a good household life

Bahiya Sutta: The teaching given to Bahiya of the Bark Cloth

Bhaya-bherava Sutta: Not accepting fear and terror

Attadiipaa Sutta: Being an island to oneself

Maha-Satipatthana Sutta: The Great Frames of Reference